Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:171
    Members:0
    Total of:171 users

    MemberLogged
    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: claudio
    Agoraquest Forum Index Television Configuration
      
    COAX RF Interference Dashboard
    Replies: 5 | Views: 1,817
    Last Reply: February 21, 2003, 4:20 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    paulaceto | Malikeye | Lee_Bailey | jay_winter |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author COAX RF Interference
    Malikeye

    Rank: Sony Enthusiant


    Joined: Jul 19, 2002
    Posts: 25
    From: Toronto, Canada

      Posted: 2003-01-26 22:37

    Need help with regular cable hook-up.

    I bought a KV27FS100 recently and I noticed that because the picture is so good compare to my old KV27S42 (older trinitron) I can see alot of RF or EMI Interference on normal cable broadcasts.

    What can you suggest that would be the best way to get rid of these annoyances.

    Does Radio Shack or other retailer sell anything that can filter out the interference, instead of buying an $80 length of coax from monster cable?


         


    paulaceto

    Rank: Sony Legend


    Joined: Dec 14, 2001
    Posts: 1211
    From: Rhode Island, USA

      Posted: 2003-01-27 06:05

    How do you know it's EMI? What exactly does it look like? Does it only happen on some channels? Does it happen all the time?


         
    Malikeye

    Rank: Sony Enthusiant


    Joined: Jul 19, 2002
    Posts: 25
    From: Toronto, Canada

      Posted: 2003-01-27 14:59

    It only happens when I run the cable through a surge protector , and only on channels 2-5. I think the one length of cable must be screwed up because it only does it with the this one length of cable and not the others I have tried.

    Other stations though have alot of intereference, such as scan lines.

    I was hoping for an easy inline filter to knock down some of these signals and frequencies


         
    paulaceto

    Rank: Sony Legend


    Joined: Dec 14, 2001
    Posts: 1211
    From: Rhode Island, USA

      Posted: 2003-01-28 05:42

    I've seen this problem before. It cannot be filtered out. It is a problem with the cable (or the connectors on it) as you pointed out. Just try cables until you find a good one.


         
    Lee_Bailey

    Rank: Sony Devotee


    Joined: Jan 24, 2003
    Posts: 84
    From: California,USA

      Posted: 2003-01-31 17:41

    Try grounding the shield of the cable connector to the same ground as your equipment and see if that helps. I found on my house that the cable co just connected the external ground to my water pipes, which were not a good ground as it turns out, since my main line is made out of PVC. Connecting the ground outside to the ground strip in my breaker panel fixed a lot of the problems.

    -----------------
    Click on the WWW button below to visit my website.


         
    jay_winter

    Rank: Sony Enthusiant


    Joined: Jan 31, 2003
    Posts: 43
    From:

      Posted: 2003-02-21 16:20

    You have a cable with an open shield connection. Make sure all of your cable runs are of good-quality QUAD-shielded RG-6, with securely-crimped connections. You can purchase reasonably-good ready-made cables from Radio Shack or even Home Depot... but don't throw your money away on Monster brand products. They're mediocre products at a premium price.



       
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.