Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:254
    Members:0
    Total of:254 users

    MemberLogged
    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: Maxxwire
    Agoraquest Forum Index Amp/Receiver/Speakers/Connections/Cables
      
    Trying to input HDMI Video with Analog Audio into STR-DA3300ES Dashboard
    Replies: 3 | Views: 3,092
    Last Reply: June 15, 2011, 3:02 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    Maxxwire | AaronB | ymmij |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author Trying to input HDMI Video with Analog Audio into STR-DA3300ES
    ymmij

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Jun 10, 2011
    Posts: 2
    From: Australia

      Posted: 2011-06-10 23:55

    I am outputting HDMI video, and analog audio from a MacMini (apple computer).  Is there a way to get input the HDMI Digital Video while using an analog audio input?

    Does one of the 3 HDMI inputs have an alternate analog audio input.
    I cannot see where I can program the HDMI ports to alter the audio inputs.

    Thanks


         


    Maxxwire
    Moderator
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Adept


    Joined: Aug 29, 2002
    Posts: 26074
    From: Portland, Oregon - USA

      Posted: 2011-06-11 03:20

    ymmij- Welcome to Agoraquest! I do not know if your 2008 model DA3300ES Receiver has it or not, but classic Sony Receivers were equipped with an Audio/Video split function controlled by a Mode button just to the left of the Function knob on the right front of the Receiver. This allowed the user to choose the Audio source independently of the Video source.

    If your DA3300ES has a Mode button you should be able to select an Analog Audio input while using one of the DVD inputs unless Sony has discontinued that option. At least with your MAC you can simultaneously output 2 Audio signals. We used to be able to do that in Windows, but now there is an Audio Stack in Win 7 and only one Audio Output is allowed at a time.

    ~Maxx~



    -----------------
    A Satisfied Sony Fan Since 1974!



    The OCCC Furu-Charged Sony DB 930


         
    AaronB

    Rank: Sonyphile


    Joined: Nov 26, 2002
    Posts: 624
    From: Ottawa, Canada

      Posted: 2011-06-15 07:45

    The problem is that you are selecting the HDMI input directly. When you do that, the receiver expects to get audio and video over that HDMI link. To get around this, you need to use the video assign functionality. Basically, you take a normal input ("SAT" for example) and assign an HDMI input (e.g. HDMI 3)as the video source for it. Now when you select SAT, the HDMI 3 input will be the active video input, BUT the TV input's audio (digital if available, analog otherwise) will remain the audio source. Check the manual under "Enjoying Sound/Images from other inputs" (page 94 on the one I have here).


       
    ymmij

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Jun 10, 2011
    Posts: 2
    From: Australia

      Posted: 2011-06-15 15:02

    Yes....took me awhile to work that out. All is fine now.
    Thanks for taking the time explaining this.
    My Macmini media server is working great now.

    ymmij


         
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.