Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:241
    Members:2
    Total of:243 users
    MemberLogged
    claudio0.1 min
    Maxxwire15.1 min
    Users will be removed if they logged out or are inactive for 35 minutes

    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: claudio
    Agoraquest Forum Index Television Configuration
      
    Overscan for KV36XBR450 HD Dashboard
    Replies: 9 | Views: 2,995
    Last Reply: November 25, 2007, 9:09 am

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    jehill | andyross | thisilldo |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author Overscan for KV36XBR450 HD
    thisilldo

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Nov 17, 2007
    Posts: 6
    From:

      Posted: 2007-11-17 13:42



    My KV36XBR450 seems to have the HD overscan set pretty aggressively ("ABC HD" logo is cut off after the "H")
    I did set the overscan using the DVE dvd but that did not seem to address the HD components.

    So my question is: Do I just go into the calibration menu and attempt to do this using HD source material from my cable provider?

    Any tips on doing so would be appreciated. Without having some reference material I am concerned about distorting other aspects of the picture.
    Thanks in advance


       


    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2007-11-19 13:07

    Welcome to Agoraquest!  I believe others have posted the necessary settings before, but, yes, its a good idea to have the service manual to determine which adjustments are required.  Before you do that, are you sure that you have the right video input selected and do not have zoom on?

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2007-11-19 13:07

    Welcome to Agoraquest!  I believe others have posted the necessary settings before, but, yes, its a good idea to have the service manual to determine which adjustments are required.  Before you do that, are you sure that you have the right video input selected and do not have zoom on?

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2007-11-19 13:07

    Welcome to Agoraquest!  I believe others have posted the necessary settings before, but, yes, its a good idea to have the service manual to determine which adjustments are required.  Before you do that, are you sure that you have the right video input selected and do not have zoom on?

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    thisilldo

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Nov 17, 2007
    Posts: 6
    From:

      Posted: 2007-11-19 20:22

    "Before you do that, are you sure that you have the right video input selected and do not have zoom on?"

    My cable box component output is connected to Video5 which I think is appropriate (either Video5 or 6 I think is acceptable for 1080Icomponent input).

    Based on your questions about the video input I did take a second look at my cable box's (Motorola) output settings.
    I had it set to the following:

    TV Type:  16:9
    YPbPr: 1080I
    4:3 Overide:  480P
    Closed Caption: Disabled.

    What I notice is that when I change the Component output from 1080I to either 480P or 480I I get less of the edge cutoff.  With the 480 settings the image is clipped (cropped?) just at the edge of the "D" in the "ABC HD" logo.

    The only setting I found for zoom was for twin view picture mode.

    So I'll take a look another look at the overscan.

    Thanks.


       
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2007-11-21 16:45

    OK! Grat!  You definitely have the correct settings except that I would recommend setting 4:3 Override at 480i instead of 480p.  Of course, this has no bearing on the HD picture.

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    thisilldo

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Nov 17, 2007
    Posts: 6
    From:

      Posted: 2007-11-23 20:24

    There is still a problem: The calibration settings in modified in the service menu so not seem to impact the horizontal position or size for 1080i.  I tried MDHP and MDHS in MID1 but chaging these settings only changed the picture when in 480p and 480i mode.  When in 1080i mode, changing these settings had no impact on the position or sizing of the picture. 

    So what calibration settings do I modify in the service menu do I change to modify the horizontal position and size when in 1080i mode?

    You also mentioned zoom mode, where do I check for that?

    Thanks.



       
    andyross

    Rank: Sony Legend


    Joined: Mar 09, 2004
    Posts: 1093
    From: Schaumburg, IL

      Posted: 2007-11-24 10:15

    Ideally, I would use the master settings in 2170D-1 and D-2 to configure 1080i. You can then use the MID2 category to adjust 480i in the various modes (4:3 and others, and also between full screen, Twin left/right, freeze, favorites, etc...) For 480p and up, use MID3. Again, many MID3 settings also have memories for different modes.


    -----------------
    Sony KDL-46EX700, Onkyo TX-NR609, Sony BDP-S370, WDTV Live Streaming, Motorola DCT-6412, RCA RCRP05B.


         
    thisilldo

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Nov 17, 2007
    Posts: 6
    From:

      Posted: 2007-11-24 18:39






    On 2007-11-24 10:15, andyross wrote:
    Ideally, I would use the master settings in 2170D-1 and D-2 to configure 1080i. You can then use the MID2 category to adjust 480i in the various modes (4:3 and others, and also between full screen, Twin left/right, freeze, favorites, etc...) For 480p and up, use MID3. Again, many MID3 settings also have memories for different modes.




    I assumed the 2170 was a typo and the 2150D-1 and D-2 did it! Thanks.

    BTW, will there ever be a niche market with direct view tv's, similar to that of turntables?  Or is the overhead too great?

    Thanks again.



       
    andyross

    Rank: Sony Legend


    Joined: Mar 09, 2004
    Posts: 1093
    From: Schaumburg, IL

      Posted: 2007-11-25 09:09

    I have an XBR910, so I guess they renamed a few items. The menus are almost the same.

    CRT's will pretty much be limited to bargain-basement stuff, usually with really crappy pictures. There may be some CRT's still used for broadcast production, but the flat panel formats are getting so close it may not be long before that is gone.

    Interesting thread on the sci.electronics.repair newsgroup. Somebody bought a 27" CRT Insignia TV from Best Buy. It does NOT support MTS stereo on analog RF!! I guess that's one way to cut a few pennies. Broadcast analog may be going away in a little over a year, but cable analog will be around for a few more.

    -----------------
    Sony KDL-46EX700, Onkyo TX-NR609, Sony BDP-S370, WDTV Live Streaming, Motorola DCT-6412, RCA RCRP05B.


         
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.