Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:242
    Members:2
    Total of:244 users
    MemberLogged
    claudio0.1 min
    Maxxwire15.1 min
    Users will be removed if they logged out or are inactive for 35 minutes

    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: claudio
    Agoraquest Forum Index Television Configuration
      
    HTPC to KV-32xbr450 Dashboard
    Replies: 3 | Views: 1,149
    Last Reply: May 21, 2006, 6:25 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    wiz561 | jehill |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author HTPC to KV-32xbr450
    wiz561

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Oct 24, 2001
    Posts: 5
    From: Chicago, IL

      Posted: 2006-05-20 18:50

    Hi!

    I tried searching around for a few hours between google and here, and can't find my answer. I'm trying to hook up a MythTV home theater pc system and use my sony tv with it. I have the Sony KV-32xbr450 model, and it's currently using the s-video connection from the computer to the tv. On the computer side, I'm running Fedora Linux with a nvidia GeForce 4000 MX card.

    Everything works fine, but I just want to know what resolution, color depth and refresh rate I should use for this tv. My biggest fear is that I will set something wrong and destory my tv.


    Thanks for any information!!!

    Mike


        


    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2006-05-20 19:46

    Welcome to Agoraquest!  If you are using the S-video input, the input should be 480i with a 60Hz refresh rate.  You will have to experiment with "color depth".  The DRC circuitry doubles the number of lines to 960i.  The only way to get higher resolution is to provide a 1080i 60 Hz refresh rate input to one of the component video inputs.

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    wiz561

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Oct 24, 2001
    Posts: 5
    From: Chicago, IL

      Posted: 2006-05-20 20:07

    thank you for your response. I finally found another posting that spoke with the same example I used...even with s-video!

    My next question, what is 480i? Is that 640x480, interlaced? I'm also guessing that I wouldn't be able to get anything higher than that because I'm using s-video and not component out.


    Thank you very much for your help!!!

    For those who are interested, here's the other post... I'm guessing it's from the same person...

    ---
    Welcome to Agoraquest! If you are using an S-video input, the Horizontal Scan rate must be set at 15.75kHz (480i input). I suspect that the Horizontal Sync rate is the same. The actual Horizontal Scan rate for the KV36XBR400 is 33.75kHz, the frequency required for a 1080i input. The DRC circuit doubles the number of lines for a 480i input (15.75kHz) to 960i (31.5kHz). No action is required by the DRC circuit for a 480p input because it is already at the required input frequency for the MID circuit (31.5kHz). The MID circuit adds 30 lines above and below the 480 in each scan of the input to bring the count up to 540p. The DRC and MID circuits are bypassed for a 1080i (540p) input. You would have total control over your TV if you provided it with a 1080i or 540p(33.75kHz) input. That may only be accomplished using the component video inputs, VIDEO5 and VIDEO6, and apparently, a different video card in your computer.



        
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2006-05-21 18:25

    Yes, 480i is the same as 640x480, interlaced.

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.