Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:186
    Members:0
    Total of:186 users

    MemberLogged
    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: Toli
    Agoraquest Forum Index Getting Started/Building a Home Theater
      
    cant get tv to play through my sony home cinema system! Dashboard
    Replies: 3 | Views: 1,987
    Last Reply: April 10, 2006, 3:43 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    Toli | dickpiggot |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author cant get tv to play through my sony home cinema system!
    dickpiggot

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Apr 08, 2006
    Posts: 2
    From: london

      Posted: 2006-04-08 16:48

    Please please help- im sure its really simple, but my Home theatre dvd system works a dream - on both dvds and cd's however when i watch satellite tv i cant get the sound through my new speakers.

    My TV is a toshiba 30w46, and my DVD Home theatre system is the DZ100 (this only has one scart and no other ports at all!)

    my tv has 3 scarts none of which automatically give me tv surround sound

    am i being stupid?

    thanks in advance

    dickpiggot


         


    Toli
    Moderator
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Master


    Joined: Oct 20, 2003
    Posts: 8509
    From: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

      Posted: 2006-04-09 21:41

    dickpiggot,

    The DAV-DZ100 unfortunately doesn't have any inputs at all. Therefore there is no way to do what you would like to do. Short of getting a new system that would allow input of external sources, you will have to settle for connecting the satellite directly to the TV.

    Toli


    -----------------
    KDL-52XBR6 w/Salamander Archetype TV65,STR-DA7100ES,BDP-S1,DVP-NS9100ES,DIRECTV HR21,Panamax 5510-PRO ACRegenerator & M1500-UPS;Klipsch:KSF-10.5(2),KSF-C5,KSF-S5(4-2),KSW-15; glass toslinks,Pure Silver i-Link & HDMI,PS3,Harmony 880 Pro


         
    dickpiggot

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Apr 08, 2006
    Posts: 2
    From: london

      Posted: 2006-04-10 14:04

    Ah HA! you are wrong Toli but thanks for replying,

    If you are interested, I bought 2 separate scart leads, one normal universal scart, and one 3 way scart lead with an IN scart, and an OUT scart both connected to and IN/OUT scart

    This IN/OUT scart goes into the single scart point on the DAV DZ100, the in plug goes in the TV and the out goes into the VHS Scart on the digibox. (this sends a sound signal)

    I then connected the universal scart lead from the TV socket on the back of the Digi box to the TV (AV2)

    Hey Presto - surround sound. NB as the signals are now separate there is a slight lag/echo between surround sound and tv sound, so you do have to mute the tv when using the home theatre system.

    DickPiggot


         
    Toli
    Moderator
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Master


    Joined: Oct 20, 2003
    Posts: 8509
    From: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

      Posted: 2006-04-10 15:43

    dickpiggot,

    I am happy that you solved your problem and I learned something about the SCART connection today. I admit that I shouldn't have tried to answer your question as I don't have experience with SCART, but I am glad that my error brought you joy.

    Toli

    -----------------
    KDL-52XBR6 w/Salamander Archetype TV65,STR-DA7100ES,BDP-S1,DVP-NS9100ES,DIRECTV HR21,Panamax 5510-PRO ACRegenerator & M1500-UPS;Klipsch:KSF-10.5(2),KSF-C5,KSF-S5(4-2),KSW-15; glass toslinks,Pure Silver i-Link & HDMI,PS3,Harmony 880 Pro


         
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.