Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:244
    Members:2
    Total of:246 users
    MemberLogged
    claudio0.1 min
    Maxxwire15.1 min
    Users will be removed if they logged out or are inactive for 35 minutes

    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: claudio
    Agoraquest Forum Index Television Configuration
      
    Connecting KV-DA29M81 TV to NVidea PC Card Dashboard
    Replies: 5 | Views: 1,684
    Last Reply: August 2, 2005, 7:52 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    jehill | kv-da29m81 |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author Connecting KV-DA29M81 TV to NVidea PC Card
    kv-da29m81

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Jul 27, 2005
    Posts: 3
    From: Riyadh

      Posted: 2005-07-27 15:04

    I have connected my new tv (KV-DA29M81) to my pc video card (NVidia GeForce FX5500) with an HD15 / RCA RGBHV breakout cable.

    When i start up my PC (while tv is on, channel HD2), i get a cristal clear picture on my TV screen, showing the Windows logo, etc.

    However, as soon as the start-up is complete the picture disappears from my TV. 

    I've tried just about every setting using the NVidia driver and setup utility (latest version from NVidia site), with no success.

    The NVidia special settings allows only for composite and S-video connections.

    Plse help me, i'm going insane !!!!


       


    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2005-07-27 17:09

    Welcome to Agoraquest!  I suspect that what is happening is that your TV has no problem displaying the default 480 x 640 resolution that is used when the Windows logo appears.  Sometime later the resolution changes to whatever you have selected.  I suspect that your TV dosen't like your selected resolution for some reason and that's why you don't see a picture at that point.

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    kv-da29m81

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Jul 27, 2005
    Posts: 3
    From: Riyadh

      Posted: 2005-07-28 06:42

    Thanks for the reply John.  I think you're right, perhaps the PC video card does not properly recognise the tv.

    Any ideas on what i can do?


       
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2005-07-28 18:32

    I don't , but others may.

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    kv-da29m81

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Jul 27, 2005
    Posts: 3
    From: Riyadh

      Posted: 2005-08-02 01:18

    I finally have a picture, and it is great quality !  Configured Nvidia card to output 640x480. 

    However, had to do this specifying tv as analogue monitor (when setting Nvidia card to ouput to "TV" i cannot get a picture on the tv). 

    Seems to defeat the objective though of having a pc graphics card that can output digital and a tv that can recieve digital?




       
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2005-08-02 19:52

    Is your TV 16:9 or 4:3?  What type digital output jack does you NVidia card have?  What you need is a DVI-D output.  If its DVI-I, it won't work.

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.