Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:218
    Members:1
    Total of:219 users
    MemberLogged
    Maxxwire65 min
    Users will be removed if they logged out or are inactive for 35 minutes

    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: claudio
    Agoraquest Forum Index Television Configuration
      
    Direct Input Selection for KP-46WT510 Dashboard
    Replies: 6 | Views: 2,193
    Last Reply: December 29, 2007, 2:45 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    jehill | Toli | andyross | JetFlyGuy | jfme |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author Direct Input Selection for KP-46WT510
    JetFlyGuy

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Jun 17, 2004
    Posts: 1
    From: Lake Worth, FL, USA

      Posted: 2004-06-17 19:44

    Hi,
       I would like to program my universal remote to directly select an input on the KP-46WT510. (i.e. video 1), insted of having to scroll through them.  I have heard that there are some discreet codes out there.  Thanks for any help you may be able to give me.  -Josh


       


    Toli
    Moderator
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Master


    Joined: Oct 20, 2003
    Posts: 8509
    From: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

      Posted: 2004-06-18 09:25

    JetFlyGuy- Welcome to Agoraquest. The input button as far as I know doesn't have seperate codes for each input. It only has one and changes with each press, the change happens inside the TV itself and not with the remote code. You can if you'ld like, skip all unused inputs, or connect all video through an audio receiver thus only using one of the TV's inputs.


    -----------------
    KDL-52XBR6 w/Salamander Archetype TV65,STR-DA7100ES,BDP-S1,DVP-NS9100ES,DIRECTV HR21,Panamax 5510-PRO ACRegenerator & M1500-UPS;Klipsch:KSF-10.5(2),KSF-C5,KSF-S5(4-2),KSW-15; glass toslinks,Pure Silver i-Link & HDMI,PS3,Harmony 880 Pro


         
    andyross

    Rank: Sony Legend


    Joined: Mar 09, 2004
    Posts: 1093
    From: Schaumburg, IL

      Posted: 2004-06-18 17:29

      The are discrete codes for Vid 1 through Vid 6. BUT, the TV's remote is not programmable.

      I normally use a Sony RM-VL900 universal remote. I can select video by holding down the TV/VID key and hitting 1, 2, 3, etc.. I tried this with my XBR910's remote, and it doesn't support it.

      If you have a One-For-All remote, you can use one of it's codes to generate the signal. You could buy a cheap OFA remote and use it to generate the code for another learning remote.

      You can get a list of the Sony TV 'magic' codes here:
    http://home.att.net/~andyross/AV/TV000.html 

      Finally, as mentioned before, you can label unused video inputs as 'SKIP', and they will not be accessible when using the normal TV/Vid sequence (but you can still directly access them with the above codes.)


    -----------------
    Sony KDL-46EX700, Onkyo TX-NR609, Sony BDP-S370, WDTV Live Streaming, Motorola DCT-6412, RCA RCRP05B.


         
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14282
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2004-06-18 18:56

    andyross_
    Is the magic key always TV/VIDEO or is it model dependant?  The method didn't work when I tried it with my 36XBR450 remote and my RM-AV3000.  The defaut RM-AV3000 Sony TV code, 8001, provides VIDEO1, VIDEO2, VIDEO3 AND VIDEO4 labels thay provide direct access to those inputs.  However, no labels are provided for VIDEO5 and VIDEO6.  I don't have a problem with that, because direct access macros may be programmed as follows:

    VIDEO5: VIDEO4, INPUT
    VIDEO6: VIDEO4, INPUT, INPUT

    JetFlyGuy-
    Find someone that has an RM-AV3000 and use it the "learn" the desired commands (see above).

    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    andyross

    Rank: Sony Legend


    Joined: Mar 09, 2004
    Posts: 1093
    From: Schaumburg, IL

      Posted: 2004-06-20 10:40

      On the RM-900, the Input selection is built-in.

      On the One-For-All's, you would need to encode each to a separate key, although OFA's have a sort of second-function capability by tapping Setup (or MAGIC) before hitting a key. Many OFA's can be programmed using your computer. Some details here:
    http://www.hifi-remote.com/ofa/ 


    -----------------
    Sony KDL-46EX700, Onkyo TX-NR609, Sony BDP-S370, WDTV Live Streaming, Motorola DCT-6412, RCA RCRP05B.


         
    jfme

    Rank: Sony Fan


    Joined: Dec 27, 2007
    Posts: 1
    From: Atlanta

      Posted: 2007-12-27 17:22

    I also have the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.  I was able to program VIDEO5 using my cable box remote control.

    I have the Comcast remote control:

    http://www.comcast.com/Media/1-2/CM/VanityURL/documents/comcast_on_demand_remote_manual.pdf

    Procedure:
    - Make sure that the TV portion of you remote is programmed for the TV.  To verify, check that your TV responds to the number pad, channels, volume, etc from your Comcast remote.
    - Press Setup once
    - Enter 00162
    - This will generate the IR signal to activate VIDEO5 in your Sony TV.
    - Have your RM-AV3000 Learn by pointing the remote to it

    I believe many cable box remote controls do this.  This is a good reference:
    http://www.hifi-remote.com/urc/

    By trial and error, I discovered that I have to add the two zeroes in front of the code for mine to work.

    Also,
    If you want to assign a VIDEO5 Label, you can do so by editing one of the (****) label given at the bottom of the touch screen in the TV sub-menu.

    Procedure (Press):
    Commander Off and Muting
    Set
    Label
    Compo
    TV
    Select the  **** Label and rename it to VIDEO5

    [ This message was edited by: jfme on 2007-12-27 17:32 ]


       
    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14282
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2007-12-29 14:45

    That's interesting!  How did you come up with the 00162 code?



    -----------------
    -John

    Sony A/V System: KDL-55XBR8, BDP-S550 and AVD-LA2500PKG, consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer


       
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.