Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:247
    Members:2
    Total of:249 users
    MemberLogged
    SONYESP3.2 min
    ShadowLord0.1 min
    Users will be removed if they logged out or are inactive for 35 minutes

    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      
    Moderated By: claudio
    Agoraquest Forum Index Television Configuration
      
    auto resolution in the XBR? Dashboard
    Replies: 1 | Views: 990
    Last Reply: February 15, 2004, 5:40 pm

    View Printable Version of this thread
    Members below have participated in this thread
    jehill | wmiles |
    Search other threads for related issues/solutions: or use Advance Forum Search
    Get the latest Exclusive Sony News by Joining our RSS Feed or Get RSS Via Email
    Author auto resolution in the XBR?
    wmiles

    Rank: Sony Aficionado


    Joined: Aug 15, 2003
    Posts: 114
    From: Noble, OK

      Posted: 2004-02-13 20:55

    In the xBR800 series, does the TV automatically display the appropriate or correct signal, 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i? In other words, the TV provides the "best" resolution automatically and is not manually set? Although I cannot find the answer to this in the owners manual, it does refer to the DRC but this is confusing to me. If this question does not make sense, let me know and I will ask the question differently as I would like to know the answer to this particular question. Thanks


       


    jehill
    Premium Member

    Rank: Sony Senior Advisor


    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14278
    From: Sewell, NJ

      Posted: 2004-02-15 17:40

    Yes, the xBR800 series TVs automatically display the correct signal.  You should also know that 480i inputs are converted to 960i, doubling the number of scanning lines so that they are not noticeable at normal viewing distances.  A 720p input is converted to 1080i.  A 480p input is also converted to 960 lines, but I am not sure whether it is p or i.  A 1080i input is viewed directly.

    -John
     
    Sony A/V System: KV-36XBR450 FD Trinitron WEGA and AVD-LA2500PKG consisting of AVD-C70ES Super Audio CD/DVD Receiver, 4 SS-LA500ED surround speakers, 1 SS-LAC505ED center channel speaker and 1 SA-WD200 Active Subwoofer

    [ This message was edited by: jehill on 2004-03-15 22:15 ]


       
    Advance Features
      
    Jump To:
    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.