Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:178
    Members:0
    Total of:178 users

    MemberLogged
    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      

    Moderated By: claudio
    Forum:  Television Configuration
    Post Reply in Topic: How to disable OSD on a KV-21FX30 Trinitron
    Go to Agoraquest, LLC - The only place for the Sony Enthusiast - Forums Index

    About Posting: All registered users can post new topics and replies to this forum.
    Username:
    Password:
    Message Icon:                     
                        
                        
                      
    Message:

    HTML : On
    BBCode : On

    For New/Existing Members
    Please put as much detail in the response. Please add any new updates or fix that you may have to the post as this will help future visitors/members.

    Options: Disable HTML on this Post
    Disable BBCode on this Post
    Disable smilies on this Post
    Show signature (This can be altered or added in your profile)

     


    Topic Review
    rochabian
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Nov 06, 2011
    Posts: 4
    From: France
     Posted: 2011-11-06 15:26   
    Hi!

    I use a CRT TV KV-21FX30 (FD Trinitron) in an arcade cab
    The TV switch resolutions very often depending of the games resolution.
    Problem is when switching, the green OSD appears for about 5 seconds on screen with name of the source (AV2) and the sound volume
    Quite annoying because sometime resolution switch in-game and then i see this green OSD.....
    I've found the technical manual for this TV, but there is nothing about disabling OSD in it
    No options for this, in normal menu or service menu.
    Should i have to remove a component on the PCB or any other options
    Thanks for your reply

    [ This message was edited by: rochabian on 2011-11-06 15:26 ]

    jehill
    Sony Senior Advisor
    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ
     Posted: 2011-11-07 10:02   
    Welcome to Agoraquest!  If there is a "Display" or equivalent button on your remote, try pressing it to disable it.

    rochabian
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Nov 06, 2011
    Posts: 4
    From: France
     Posted: 2011-11-07 13:08   
    Thanks for your reply jehill
    Unfortunately, i don't have a "display" button
    You think i can resolve my problem with the remote??
    Mine is RM-887 if you know it
    I'll try some buttons and read again the remote manual

    rochabian
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Nov 06, 2011
    Posts: 4
    From: France
     Posted: 2011-11-07 15:17   
    Well,

    After some test i can't find a way to disable completely OSD

    Tried the remote and none buttons seems to do this

    No options in the normal menu

    In service menu, i've got an option under "service" part where i can change OSD brightness but that's all

    Under the submenu "design" in service mode menu, there is a lot of options but i don't really know what they mean and are not detailed in the technical manual

    Settings are named with 3 letters and it's hard to find what they do and i don't really want to scratch my TV

    I'll try to search on schemes which component is used to display OSD and find a way to disable it.

    If someone has another solution, let me know

    Thanks

    [ This message was edited by: rochabian on 2011-11-07 15:18 ]

    rochabian
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Nov 06, 2011
    Posts: 4
    From: France
     Posted: 2011-11-09 17:04   
    Schemes doesn't return anything.....
    Does someone know how OSD works and components that is used for it
    Can it be turned off with a potentiometer on the PCB?
    Have someone done this with another CRT TV?
    Should i just have to cry ahead of my TV when i play a game and see this horrible flashy green OSD in front of me????
    Sniff!

    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.