Agoraquest Logo
The only place for the Sony Enthusiast Free Member Registration | Login | Contact Us | Quick Search Forum   
Main Menu
  • Home
  • Topics
  • Forums
  • Reviews
  • The Top
  • Web Links
  • File Downloads
  • Photo Gallery
  • Archived Articles
  • Media Center
  • Useful Sections
  • Sony Issues
  • Sony Alerts
  • Senior Members
  • Premium Members
  • eBay Sony Auction
  • Search Site
  • About Us
  • Recommend Us
  • Members List
  • Bookmark this Page

    Additional Features
  • Linking to Us
  • Owner Manuals
  • Calender of Events
  • Contact Us
  • Stock Market
  • Agorasearch
  • Break It Down Blog

  • Sponsors




    Who's Online
    Currently Online
    Visitors:230
    Members:0
    Total of:230 users

    MemberLogged
    Most Online Users
    Visitors:980
    Members:1
    Total of:981 online users
    October 17, 2013, 10:29 pm

    Your Current Status
    You are Anonymous user. Register for free by clicking here.

     Inbox
    Log in to check your private message


      

    Moderated By: Maxxwire
    Forum:  Amp/Receiver/Speakers/Connections/Cables
    Post Reply in Topic: STR-DA7100ES and new HDMI board
    Go to Agoraquest, LLC - The only place for the Sony Enthusiast - Forums Index

    About Posting: All registered users can post new topics and replies to this forum.
    Username:
    Password:
    Message Icon:                     
                        
                        
                      
    Message:

    HTML : On
    BBCode : On

    For New/Existing Members
    Please put as much detail in the response. Please add any new updates or fix that you may have to the post as this will help future visitors/members.

    Options: Disable HTML on this Post
    Disable BBCode on this Post
    Disable smilies on this Post
    Show signature (This can be altered or added in your profile)

     


    Topic Review
    Fluggo
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Sep 28, 2011
    Posts: 5
    From: Sweden
     Posted: 2011-09-28 13:54   
    Hello<br />I own a STR-DA7100ES receiver and like it alot. I have read all threads I could find about the problem with XV Colour via HDMI. My amp does not support XV Colour as it is on firmware 1.11 and according to other threads this needs to be 1.12.<br /><br />Im looking for info about which amps needs the HDMI board replaced and which only needs the firmware upgrade as Sony says that they dont have the HDMI board anymore. Does anyone here know more about this?<br /><br />I found what I believe is a HDMI board here at partstore.com and have mailed them with questions about it.<br /><font size="1"><br />Mount C Board S Assembly Hdm</font><font size="1"><br /></font><font size="1">Part #: <br />A-1126-993-A</font><br /><br />Regards / Alex

    SonyCIS
    Sony Aficionado
    Joined: Apr 19, 2005
    Posts: 142
    From:
     Posted: 2011-09-29 11:53   
    partsstore.com lists lots of things they will charge you for but not send.. some little  resistors are one thing whole boards ,i.c. 's and such ehmmmmmmmmm...better put hand on arse for a while...unless they verify part, and can double down that it is really avail..

    Fluggo
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Sep 28, 2011
    Posts: 5
    From: Sweden
     Posted: 2011-09-29 12:42   
    Im still waiting for a response on my DA7100ES. The repaircenter said they would talk to Sony about a refund or trading the amp in for something newer like the DA6400ES.

    As I understand it the DA6400ES while having more bells and whistles than the DA7100ES is not nearly as good as an amp as the DA7100ES. I have also read all the discussions (I think) about the newer ES amps is not as Hi End as they used to be. Any idea about why they are back to analog amps ? Is it just down to saving money ?

    I would really like to know what you guys had done in my situation but I think im gonna keep the amp which I was fortunate to find new and unused just a month ago

    SonyCIS
    Sony Aficionado
    Joined: Apr 19, 2005
    Posts: 142
    From:
     Posted: 2011-10-11 11:59   
    maybe purchase converter hdmi switcher,run all thru that  and rs-232 or ir repeat or make a custom event to trigger the switcher to sw the input for all your hdmi..

    Mr_Mod
    Sonyphile
    Joined: Jan 13, 2004
    Posts: 405
    From: Singapore
     Posted: 2011-12-08 02:16   
    can you post instructions on how to build the jig

    Fluggo
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Sep 28, 2011
    Posts: 5
    From: Sweden
     Posted: 2011-12-07 13:07   
    When did you get this HDMI board that was upgradeable ? I Talked to Sony here in Sweden who said in October that this HDMI board was no longer availible.

    I have the firmware update myself (the files) and the instruction on how to build the jig,so I just need the newer rev of the HDMI board.

    submariner
    Sony Addict
    Joined: May 03, 2008
    Posts: 214
    From: UK
     Posted: 2011-12-09 11:26   

    On 2011-12-07 13:07, Fluggo wrote:
    When did you get this HDMI board that was upgradeable ? I Talked to Sony here in Sweden who said in October that this HDMI board was no longer availible.

    I have the firmware update myself (the files) and the instruction on how to build the jig,so I just need the newer rev of the HDMI board.

    I think it was about 2009. At the time there were some supply issues, if I remember correctly, they were worried that they might not have stocks even then.

    submariner
    Sony Addict
    Joined: May 03, 2008
    Posts: 214
    From: UK
     Posted: 2011-12-06 05:48   

    On 2011-09-29 12:42, Fluggo wrote:
    Im still waiting for a response on my DA7100ES. The repaircenter said they would talk to Sony about a refund or trading the amp in for something newer like the DA6400ES.

    As I understand it the DA6400ES while having more bells and whistles than the DA7100ES is not nearly as good as an amp as the DA7100ES. I have also read all the discussions (I think) about the newer ES amps is not as Hi End as they used to be. Any idea about why they are back to analog amps ? Is it just down to saving money ?

    I would really like to know what you guys had done in my situation but I think im gonna keep the amp which I was fortunate to find new and unused just a month ago


    I went through all this - it was a nightmare as mine would only pass 1080i - which made it useless as the main controller for my system.  Fortunately Sony UK were fantastic and tried the software upgrade, which I understand is really tricky you need a 'jig' for this. Apparently the jig is in short supply I think only 2 in Europe. I was gutted to find the software upgrade did not take with my original board.  Sony then got a new HDMI board from Japan [I think] and it worked!!!
    IMO it would be worth hunting for one of these HDMI boards because once sorted I think it is a fantastic amp for the money.  The fact it can accept 7.1 LPCM means it doesn't need all the fancy codecs to decode stuff like DTS HD MA etc. - so it's kind of future proofed.
    Sony initially offerred me one of their new range as a swap out, but agreed it was no where near the SQ or power [just pick one up and you will feel the difference].  Touch wood mine has been flawless for over a year.  They told me it was very unlikely that these fantastic digital amps would make a comeback as they were "prohibitively" expensive to make.  So I feel justified that I persevered to get it sorted.
    One caution be aware that if you are playing a bluray player with HD MA, if you stop the bluray you can get a small 'pop' noise - nothing one can do about it - so I just press the mute button at the end of the film. It doesn't happen on pause so it is workable - even the wife learnt pretty quickly.  For my ears the only like for like replacement I found was a bank of Bryston amps - 6 channels £6,000 = $9,000 and you still need a decent front end processor!
    Good luck finding the board.  I I found one of those HDMI boards and could get hold of an unused 7100ES I'd buy them just as a backup!
    I always wondered if my HDMI board blew up could it be repaired?

    SNY4ME
    Sony Legend
    Joined: Nov 13, 2005
    Posts: 879
    From: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
     Posted: 2011-12-11 20:31   
    I've just given up on the idea of my 7100ES ever handling all the video upgrades via HDMI.

    I will run the low quality stuff like DVD from my 9100ES and 1080i from my Cable DSTB. Otherwise I will just connect directly to my TV via HDMI and using either Toslink or 7.1 Analog for audio.

    I really can't stand all the changes they keep making to HDMI, ever since day one.

    Lyle

    siebelink1
    Sony Buff
    Joined: May 07, 2009
    Posts: 20
    From: holland
     Posted: 2011-12-21 11:35   
    <DIV style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; TEXT-ALIGN: left; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff; COLOR: #000000; OVERFLOW: hidden; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none; TEXT-DECORATION: none">can you post instructions on how to build the jig also for me ?

    I want to update it by my own.
    I've  looked for the jig and it will cost € 120,- incl. shipping to the netherlands .
    A little bit expensive if you ask me

    </DIV>

    [ This message was edited by: siebelink1 on 2011-12-21 11:37 ]

    siebelink1
    Sony Buff
    Joined: May 07, 2009
    Posts: 20
    From: holland
     Posted: 2011-12-21 11:39   


    Can you also do the update throu the RS232 port ?

    jehill
    Sony Senior Advisor
    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ
     Posted: 2011-12-22 13:13   
    I just discovered something very interesting in reviewing the STR-DA7100ES service manual.  There is an  HDMI POWER board, but no HDMI board!  The HDMI circuitry is on the ILINK board, part number A-1126-993-A.  The part may be purchased for $391.31 at www.andrewselectronics.com and $430.44 at www.hermanelectronics.com.  These are the sources listed at https://servicesales.sel.sony.com/ecom/accessories/web/index.jsp.  Unsure if they ship outside the USA.  The following notes apply:

    NOTES ON REPLACEMENT OF ILINK BOARD
    New part of flash memory (IC3001) on the ILINK board cannot be used.  Therefore, if the mounted ILINK board is replaced, exchange new flash memory (IC3001) with that used before the replacement.

    NOTE OF HANDLING THE ILINK BOARD (Part No. A-1126-993-A)
    When the ILINK board is replaced by a repair for a fee, throw away the ILINK board after obtaining consent of not returning of the ILINK board to the customer. When throwing away the ILINK board, be sure to throw away after destroying IC3205 and IC3208 physically with the hammer etc.

    [ This message was edited by: jehill on 2011-12-22 13:20 ]

    submariner
    Sony Addict
    Joined: May 03, 2008
    Posts: 214
    From: UK
     Posted: 2011-12-25 22:25   

    On 2011-12-22 13:13, jehill wrote:
    I just discovered something very interesting in reviewing the STR-DA7100ES service manual.  There is an  HDMI POWER board, but no HDMI board!  The HDMI circuitry is on the ILINK board, part number A-1126-993-A.  The part may be purchased for $391.31 at www.andrewselectronics.com and $430.44 at www.hermanelectronics.com.  These are the sources listed at https://servicesales.sel.sony.com/ecom/accessories/web/index.jsp.  Unsure if they ship outside the USA.  The following notes apply:

    NOTES ON REPLACEMENT OF ILINK BOARD
    New part of flash memory (IC3001) on the ILINK board cannot be used.  Therefore, if the mounted ILINK board is replaced, exchange new flash memory (IC3001) with that used before the replacement.

    NOTE OF HANDLING THE ILINK BOARD (Part No. A-1126-993-A)
    When the ILINK board is replaced by a repair for a fee, throw away the ILINK board after obtaining consent of not returning of the ILINK board to the customer. When throwing away the ILINK board, be sure to throw away after destroying IC3205 and IC3208 physically with the hammer etc.

    [ This message was edited by: jehill on 2011-12-22 13:20 ]

    Hi Jehill
    Very interesting, does it say anything about different rev levels of that ilink board as I understood the early 7100ES's could not pass 1080p but the later ones could. I was definitely told they had to change my board even explained it was a push in job not soldered.
    I'm interested in buying a back up 7100Es if I  know I can get the board to pass 1080p, but I'd hate to buy another unit and an ilink boead only to find it would n't take the latest firmware update.

    Also interested what is this 'jig' - is it some software code or a physical piece of hardware?
    Regards Peter

    jehill
    Sony Senior Advisor
    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ
     Posted: 2011-12-26 11:25   
    I am pretty sure that I have the last revision of the STR-DA7100ES service manual, Ver. 1.3 2005.12.  The only thing that the last reversion did was add the part number for the ILINK board, so, I believe that it is safe to assume that the part number that I provided is the latest.  A "jig" is a hardware device.  I suspect that the one required is nothing more than a special RS-232 cable with a couple of leads reversed.

    jehill
    Sony Senior Advisor
    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ
     Posted: 2011-12-26 12:03   
    I just found other information from Sony referring to both a RS-232 cross-cable (what I was thinking of) and a test jig.  I am unsure of exactly what the test jig is, but I am sure that it is a piece of hardware.  Also, if the HDMI controller version (firmware) is 1.2 or greater, no update is required.  I would be willing to bet the the ILINK BOARD part number that I provided includes the latest firmware, but I can't I can't guarantee it.


    Fluggo
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Sep 28, 2011
    Posts: 5
    From: Sweden
     Posted: 2011-12-27 04:21   
    So maybe this board is still availible for order from Japan ?

    Can someone here help us out with contacts and so on ?

    Fluggo
    Sony Fan
    Joined: Sep 28, 2011
    Posts: 5
    From: Sweden
     Posted: 2011-12-27 04:44   
    Hello
    I just found this ILINK board at EET Nordic . They are now checking what rev and firmware level it is on the board and will get back to me later today or tomorrow.. I'll post again as soon as I hear anything..

    But as you have to move IC3001 from the old board over to the new it seems that you must flash the board with the new firmware after swapping the ILINK board or it will still be att the old firmware level.

    submariner
    Sony Addict
    Joined: May 03, 2008
    Posts: 214
    From: UK
     Posted: 2011-12-27 10:53   

    On 2011-12-27 04:44, Fluggo wrote:
    Hello
    I just found this ILINK board at EET Nordic . They are now checking what rev and firmware level it is on the board and will get back to me later today or tomorrow.. I'll post again as soon as I hear anything..

    But as you have to move IC3001 from the old board over to the new it seems that you must flash the board with the new firmware after swapping the ILINK board or it will still be att the old firmware level.



    Although I find this really wierd - namely pulling out on old component to exchange a part on a new assembly - why would you do that?? ;

    However it does ring a bell. After Sony found the new 'HDMI' board for me and fitted it; they were not going to celebrate until they had 'flashed the 'new' board with the firmware upgrade'.

    Come to think of it the iLink board description also joggles the old memory banks; as I think I remember feeling how can I test that they have put back the iLink board properly [i.e. does it still work]  if I have no ilink components to test it with.. I think I just accepted it and said well it will be no loss if it can't use iLink as I don't use it and 1080p over HDMI is a must.

    jehill
    Sony Senior Advisor
    Joined: Mar 13, 2003
    Posts: 14283
    From: Sewell, NJ
     Posted: 2011-12-27 11:37   
    Here is how to enter the SPECIAL MEMU MODE on the STR-DA7100ES to check the "HDMI controller version":
      
    SPECIAL MENU MODE

    1. Press the I/O button to turn on the main power, then while pressing the [MEMORY/ENTER] button, press the [MUSIC], [INPUT MODE] and [MOVIE] buttons in order within a second of each other.

    2. The message “MENU SPECIALIZED!” appears.

    3. Each time the [MENU] dial is turned clockwise, the item is switched.

    4. To release from this mode, while pressing the [MEMORY/ENTER] button, press the [MUSIC], [INPUT MODE] and [MOVIE] buttons in order again within a second of each other.

    5. The message “MENU SPECIALIZED OFF” appears.

    [ This message was edited by: jehill on 2011-12-27 11:54 ]

    Locations 
of visitors to this page


    All logos and information in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters. This website www.agoraquest.com, Claudio Meira and Agoraquest, LLC is not tided in any form to the Sony Corporation (www.sony.com). This unoffical website is just place where Sony products are reviewed among the general public. Sony is a registered of Sony, Inc. "PlayStation", "PlayStation2", the PlayStation "PS" logo, and all associated logos/graphics. "Agoraquest, LLC" and "agoraquest.com" are associated exclusively with agoraquest.com, and are NOT associated in ANY way with Sony Electronics, Inc. To view the privacy policy, please click here and to view the terms of use, please click here. If you have any further questions, please contact using our online form.