[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 35: Use of undefined constant topic - assumed 'topic' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP)
Agoraquest • View topic - Are you still getting all of the HD channels (HD200 or HD300)?

        Advanced search
It is currently Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:32 pm
Please Login or Register to take advantage of all of our forum benefits.

View topic - Are you still getting all of the HD channels (HD200 or HD300)?

Are you still getting all of the HD channels (HD200 or HD300)?

This forum is geared towards Satellite Receiver and Sony Hard Disc Video Recorder

Moderator: jttar

by Airswoosh1 » Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:54 am

For those of you with either HD200 or HD300 Sony receivers, are you getting all of the available HD channels?

I've been having some connection issues with my HD200 & HD300 with my new DirecTV installation, and was told that it'd be a good idea to upgrade to newer DirecTV boxes because I won't receive all of the programming. Any truth to this?
Airswoosh1
Sony Fan
Sony Fan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 8:00 pm
Location: Los Angeles

by Toli » Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:03 am

That's a good question, unfortunately I don't have my SAT-HD300 any longer.

jttar,

Have you had any issues like Airswoosh1 describes with receiving all of the available HD channels?

Toli

Toli
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 8074
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

by jttar » Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:53 pm



Airswoosh1 and Toli,

Sorry to say that my HD300 is neatly packed in it's original box and sits doing nothing.

Several months ago I received a phone call from a DirecTV rep telling me that they were not selling anything but advising me that DirecTV was making changes and that my Sony HD300 would no longer be able to receive all the HD channels and would not be able to broadcast in 1080P when they upgrade to it (they already have).

I ended up getting a couple of H23's and a HR21 HD DVR to replace my existing receivers. Because I have been a subscriber for so many years the upgrade cost me nothing more than signing up for a two year contract. Actually, now that I remember, I did pay $99 for the HR21 but they compensated me by giving me HBO and Showtime at no charge for 12 months.

As I read the problem that Airswoosh1 is now having it makes me think that a change in the DirecTV stream may have made the Sony HD300 obsolete as promised and that they were not just blowing smoke up my "ear". 

I would suggest doing a hard reset of the SAT-HD300 and rebuilding the channel guide. If that doesn't solve the lost channel problem give DirecTV a call and see what they have to say. If they blame it on the HD300 ask them what they can offer you now that they have made your high end receiver useless.

Airswoosh1, please keep us updated on your situation.

Joe
User avatar
jttar
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 9043
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Chicago,IL, USA

by Toli » Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:14 pm


On 2008-12-22 20:53, jttar wrote:
I ended up getting a couple of H23's and a HR21 HD DVR to replace my existing receivers.
Joe


Joe,

Did you notice that the HR21 (not sure on the H23) now has the ability to output in 1080p? This wasn't from yesterday's firmware update, but the one before that.

Toli

Toli
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 8074
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

by jttar » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:36 pm

Toli,

I did notice the firmware update giving us the capability of our H21's to display 1080P. Like your KF50WE610, my KDF55WF655 can only go to 720P but my new Sony 46" flatscreen in my bedroom will display the full 1080P.

I really have not paid attention, have you watched any 1080P programming on DirecTV yet?

Joe



User avatar
jttar
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 9043
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Chicago,IL, USA

by Toli » Tue Dec 23, 2008 6:43 pm


On 2008-12-23 22:36, jttar wrote:

I really have not paid attention, have you watched any 1080P programming on DirecTV yet?

Joe


Joe,

Not in 1080p, that's for sure. I sure hope there is a new TV in my future, maybe there will be in a couple of years. I really like the 55" XBR8, but it's not in my current budget.

Toli

Toli
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 8074
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

by jttar » Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:46 pm

Thanks for the reply Toli. Unfortunately, the 55 inch XBR8 is out of my budget also. Having a 55 inch screen now I could not settle for anything smaller for my main viewing. I am spoiled.

I will have to keep my eye open for DirecTV programming that is delivered in 1080P, if they are doing it yet.

Joe
User avatar
jttar
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 9043
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Chicago,IL, USA

by Toli » Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:51 pm


On 2008-12-23 23:46, jttar wrote:
Unfortunately, the 55 inch XBR8 is out of my budget also.
Joe


jttar,

Actually, maybe in a year or year and a half I may get one. When it comes to the Sony Outlet.

Toli

Toli
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 8074
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

by jttar » Wed Dec 24, 2008 1:55 pm


On 2008-12-24 01:51, Toli wrote:

On 2008-12-23 23:46, jttar wrote:
Unfortunately, the 55 inch XBR8 is out of my budget also.
Joe


jttar,

Actually, maybe in a year or year and a half I may get one. When it comes to the Sony Outlet.

Toli




Toli,

Hopefully by that time the price tag will come down considerably. The cheapest I have seen the KDL-55XBR8 going for was still about $5,500.

Joe
User avatar
jttar
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 9043
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Chicago,IL, USA


Return to Satellite Receiver/TiVo