[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 35: Use of undefined constant topic - assumed 'topic' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP)
Agoraquest • View topic - CD transport

        Advanced search
It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:38 am
Please Login or Register to take advantage of all of our forum benefits.

View topic - CD transport

CD transport

This forum addresses questions on installation, configuration and troubleshooting you might encounter with your Sony MD/CD/SACD.

Moderator: jttar

by mhedges » Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:34 am


On 2011-07-26 23:08, David_S wrote:

...The thing with your E77ESD is that it converts everything to digital, so you are going to lose some sound quality.  How much is debatable.

...
Mark

You might have meant E1000ESD here.  The E77ESD does not convert analog inputs to digital.  Analog inputs are 100% analog through the E77ESD.




Thanks - I didn't know that.  I thought the E77ESD converted everything to digital.  For 100% analog I thought you had to have a E77ES (no "D", very rare).

As far as comparing the E77ESD and the E80ES - the E80ES has no video switching and overall the layout inside is much neater.  The E77 is kind of a mess inside, IMHO.

Mark
mhedges
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Greensboro, NC

by scott1019 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:58 am

I may be getting the TA-E80ES since the high bidder didn't follow-through. How hard will it be to find a remote for this puppy?
scott1019
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:00 pm
Location: USA>>Ohio

by mhedges » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:39 pm

Thats funny - that is the same way I got my E80ES (an eBay second chance offer).  Although I paid more than $300!

It shouldn't be too hard to find a remote that works. The codes are pretty common. I used a Sony RM-AV2100 to control mine. I know i didn't have to teach the volume control and I think it also did source selection without teaching.



As far as mods go, I would first just try it stock for a while. I regret having mine modded - it was very expensive and I don't think it improved the sound that much. And I lost my shirt when I sold it.

mhedges
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Greensboro, NC

by scott1019 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:55 pm

Did the original remote do anything besides change inputs and adjust the volume?

Its funny you mention not modding it. I have had similar experience with all the tube gear I've had, none of the modded gear has sounded right.

I opened up my TA-E77ESD and it looks like a daunting task to mod this unit without taking a lot apart. There is some cross-talk between inputs and a simple re-routing of the wiring looks like it may cure it based on David's posts.

While we're on the topic would their be any need to upgrade my TA-N110 amp. I am happy with its performance for my 102 Db efficiency speakers. I like having multiple inputs on an amp for testing purposes to eliminate all other variables. I have considered using my DB930 as an amp, but it seems like a waste to use it as an amp only.
scott1019
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:00 pm
Location: USA>>Ohio

by David_S » Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:37 pm

The E77ES uses remote commands from the Sony AV1 command set, the same commands as current Sony receivers.  I suspect that the E80ES would also use commands from this command set.  The EP9ES uses a different (unique?) command set, that helps make it work as a DAC input for the E77ES.  Controlling the E77ES does not interfere with the EP9ES.

TA- N77ES, E77ES, E80ES, E9000ES
STR- GX10ES, DA4ES, DA5700ES
DVP- NS999ES
HAP-S1, MDS-JA20ES, ST-S730ES
RM- AX4000, AX1400
APM-55W, APM-33W
User avatar
David_S
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:00 pm
Location: BC, Canada

by scott1019 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:47 pm

Yep, that's what I've found out too. The guy I bought the EP9ES from has another one for sale and I am tempted. Especially if I want to do mods in the future to compare the results. Should I jump on it?
scott1019
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:00 pm
Location: USA>>Ohio

by David_S » Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:57 pm


On 2011-07-28 00:47, scott1019 wrote:
Yep, that's what I've found out too.  The guy I bought the EP9ES from has another one for sale and I am tempted.    Especially if I want to do mods in the future to compare the results.  Should I jump on it?

They are not very expensive especially considering their sound quality.  It could be worth it if it doesn't affect other plans you have.  A local contact has previously offered to sell onto me, I sometimes think I should call him & take up the offer.

TA- N77ES, E77ES, E80ES, E9000ES
STR- GX10ES, DA4ES, DA5700ES
DVP- NS999ES
HAP-S1, MDS-JA20ES, ST-S730ES
RM- AX4000, AX1400
APM-55W, APM-33W
User avatar
David_S
Sony Aficionado
Sony Aficionado
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:00 pm
Location: BC, Canada

by mykyll2727 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:51 am


On 2011-07-27 09:25, scott1019 wrote:
I have basic electrical and soldering skills, not the understanding to know what to replace and why.  That's why I'm here!


Cool! You should be able to get alot of help here. david posted some terrific pics of his mods on the receiver forum._mykl
mykyll2727
Sony Fanatic
Sony Fanatic
 
Posts: 4144
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:00 pm
Location: Las Vegas

by mykyll2727 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:54 am


On 2011-07-27 13:34, mhedges wrote:

On 2011-07-26 23:08, David_S wrote:
<blockquote>
...The thing with your E77ESD is that it converts everything to digital, so you are going to lose some sound quality.  How much is debatable.

...
Mark

You might have meant E1000ESD here.  The E77ESD does not convert analog inputs to digital.  Analog inputs are 100% analog through the E77ESD.


</blockquote>

Thanks - I didn't know that.  I thought the E77ESD converted everything to digital.  For 100% analog I thought you had to have a E77ES (no "D", very rare).

As far as comparing the E77ESD and the E80ES - the E80ES has no video switching and overall the layout inside is much neater.  The E77 is kind of a mess inside, IMHO.

Mark


Interesting. From the info I read from places like The Vintage Knob I had infered the same thing. Glad to know better._mykl
mykyll2727
Sony Fanatic
Sony Fanatic
 
Posts: 4144
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:00 pm
Location: Las Vegas

Previous

Return to MD/CD/SACD