[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 35: Use of undefined constant topic - assumed 'topic' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP)
Agoraquest • View topic - New System - STR-DB930, SS-K70ED and SS-K30ED

Advanced search
It is currently Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:10 pm
Please Login or Register to take advantage of all of our forum benefits.

View topic - New System - STR-DB930, SS-K70ED and SS-K30ED

New System - STR-DB930, SS-K70ED and SS-K30ED

Section where you have questions/comments about room setup, equipment design, wiring and best configuration between Sony products in creating the best Home Theater setup.

Moderator: jttar

by hazm13 » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:04 pm

New System - STR-DB930, SS-K70ED and SS-K30ED

Hi guys, I'm a new user here and an entirely new entrant into the world of HT/HiFi. (my other expensive hobby is my gaming PC) Being a poor student, I was pretty dismayed looking at the price of new audio equipment...

However, after reading some nice words written on this website, I have started a set-up for myself by getting a used STR-DB930, a pair of used SS-K70ED's and a pair of used SS-K30ED's. These 5 came to a total of just over £120 (Brit here, that's about $185) and are all in full working condition. I am yet to test the receiver or K30's but I tried the K70's on my dad's Cambridge Audio stereo amp (50W pc) and they sounded brill.

I just wanted to find out if any of you guys have any tips on a few areas:

1) Centre Channel/Sub: does anyone have any suggestions for either of these? I won't be buying immediately due to a lack of funds but I'd like to know what to look out for if I spot something going online! I haven't seen anyone selling the center SS-CNK10ED and they seem pretty rare, are there any alternatives that might fit in well for this set up? I am clueless on subs so any info or suggestions would be great.