[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/viewtopic.php on line 35: Use of undefined constant topic - assumed 'topic' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP)
Agoraquest • View topic - Sony XL1

        Advanced search
It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:22 pm
Please Login or Register to take advantage of all of our forum benefits.

View topic - Sony XL1

Sony XL1

This forum is geared towards fine-tuning your Sony computer settings. If you have troubles or just simple questions about optimizing your computer settings, check out this forum. Feel free to add your suggestions to the manuals..

Moderator: jttar

by hwong1 » Wed Aug 02, 2006 8:49 am

Hi, I have a Sony XL1 PC that I am trying to upgrade by adding more memory.  However, I cannot access the "advanced" bios pages to update the RAM timings.  The unit is not reading/using the SPD settings of the memory I put in.  Does anyone know if this is possible?  Thank you very much.  Henry
hwong1
Sony Fan
Sony Fan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:00 pm

by NiteHawk » Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:27 am



A couple of questions first.  What memory size are you trying to increase your system to?  You should currently have 512MB of PC2-4200 533Mhz installed now.  Are you replacing the older memory with the new, or are you just adding the additional memory to the old?   

NiteHawk
Sony Addict
Sony Addict
 
Posts: 2637
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Poughkeepsie, New York

by Toli » Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:17 pm






On 2006-08-02 12:49, hwong1 wrote:
Does anyone know if this is possible? 
Henry


hwong1,

Do you mean the VGX-XL1? If so, it is expandable to 2GB.

Toli
Toli
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 8074
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Winthrop Harbor, IL USA

by hwong1 » Wed Aug 02, 2006 1:20 pm

I am replacing the memory.  The new ones I purchased are OCZ Gold Series 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 (PC5400) DIMMS.  They should run at 333Mhz, but currently they are only running at 266. 
hwong1
Sony Fan
Sony Fan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:00 pm

by NiteHawk » Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:11 am



One possible reason for the bios not reading your SPD settings of your new memory module is because of a missing update.  If you have not updated your bios since purchase, you might want to consider doing so.

Updating your bios should not be intimidating, provided you have a floppy disc reader and your old bios backed up.  
NiteHawk
Sony Addict
Sony Addict
 
Posts: 2637
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Poughkeepsie, New York

by jttar » Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:10 pm

NiteHawk is right on target, as usual. Flashing the BIOS to the latest firmware should let your computer recognize the RAM speed at 333Mhz.
Do as he suggests and back up your original firmware before the flash, just in case you run into problems and have to revert back to it, and do NOT turn off the computer until the flash is successful. 

Joe

 

User avatar
jttar
Sony Legend
Sony Legend
 
Posts: 9043
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 8:00 pm
Location: Chicago,IL, USA

by hwong1 » Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:22 pm

Thanks, but I don't think Sony has an updated bios for the XL1...
hwong1
Sony Fan
Sony Fan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:00 pm


Return to Computers Configuration